School Holds Turkey Trot

The health and physical education department at Hopewell Elementary School recently hosted the eighth annual Thanksgiving Turkey Trot, with over 200 fifth- and sixth grade-students running a 1-mile cross-country race around the school grounds. First place winners in each grade level received a gift card donated by the Oxford Parent Teacher Organization. The Hopewell staff donated several turkeys that were presented to race participants through giveaway drawings.

The top five finishers in each division and their course times were as follows. Fifth-grade girls: Emma McGlothin, 6 minutes and 30 seconds; Elizabeth Penrose, 6:34; Lillia Fitzpatrick, 6:45; Annabell Brown, 6:53; and Abby Fraundorfer, 6:56. Fifth-grade boys: Sam Howell, 5:50; Wyatt Kupsey, 5:50.30; Brandon Martin, 6:08; Cameron Paris, 6:13; and Clark McPeak, 6:17. Sixth-grade girls: Elise Lanier, 6:13; Anna Dewees, 6:54; Alaina Martin, 6:55; Katy Hererra Hurtado, 6:56; and Meredith Griffin, 6:57. Sixth-grade boys: Jayden Cosenso, 5:45; Aiden Kane, 5:51; Deandre Scott, 5:55; Landon McCoy, 5:57; and Kyle Roberts, 6:04.

Leave a Review

Leave a Reply